“With an advanced scope of practice, we can do more for our patients."

—  Professor Ross Tsuyuki, University of Alberta, Canada.

About us

Forward Pharmacy is a multi-disciplinary forum formed to question the pharmacy profession’s current position and discuss international and local evidence on how to move Pharmacy forward to improve health outcomes in Aotearoa, New Zealand.


The profession of pharmacy has been slow to deliver clinically based services and move from a product based model to a patient focused model.   While the reasons for this lack of movement are complex, one of the impediments has been the lack of remuneration and the uncertainty about the value of evidence.





Professor Carlo Marra

Dean, School of Pharmacy, University of Otago

Dr Jeff Harrison

Head, School of Pharmacy, The University of Auckland

Associate Professor Natalie Medlicott

School of Pharmacy, University of Otago

Associate Professor Bruce Russell

School of Pharmacy, University of Otago

Mr Graeme Smith

President, Pharmaceutical Society of NZ

Dr Alesha Smith

Senior Lecturer School of Pharmacy University of Otago

Ian McMichael

Managing Director, Pharmacy 547

Angela Harwood

Clinical Pharmacist Facilitator, Wellsouth Primary Health Network

Ginny Brailsford

Chair and Clinical Lead, Canterbury Clinical Network

Please reload



Tel. +64 3 479 7275

The School of Pharmacy

PO Box 52
Dunedin, NZ 9054





Contact us
Stay tuned
Connect with us and stay in the loop.
Email updates
Be the first to hear about our what we are doing.
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
Questions? We've got answers. Try us.
© University of Otago, School of Pharmacy 2017.